The chapel, or Uposatha hall, is the most important building in the monastery. This is where ordinations and other official acts of the Order take place, as well as housing one of Thailand’s most famous Buddha images – Pra Buddha Jinasiha – a Buddha image from the Sukhothai period, believed cast by King Li Thai in 1357. Also to be found inside this hall are the distinctive and unique murals painted by well known Thai painter, In Kong, during King Mongkut’s time. Unfortunately, time and moisture have taken their toll and some of the murals have had to undergo a process which includes lifting off whole sections of painted plaster, affixing these to plastic plates, and then re-attaching them to their former positions.
Located directly in front of the Pra Buddha Jinasiha we see the likenesses of the three former abbots of this monastery. From left to right they are: Somdet Pra Sangharaj Chao Kroma Luang Vajiranyanavongse; Somdet Krom Praya Pavares Variyalongkorn (Prince Rerk ) and Somdet Pra Maha Samana Chao Vajiranyanavarorasa (Prince Manusanak Manop). The two later images were ordered cast by King Vajiravudh [King Rama VI] in 1916 and 1919, respectively, and were installed here simultaneously in 1921. The image of Somdet Pra Sangharaj Chao was ordered cast by King Bhumibol Adulyadej (Rama 9).